After a Long Hiatus… Let’s Do Some Cream Contour!

Published April 2, 2015 by lesleyhope

Cream contour is all the rage right now. Well, contouring at least is. Using creams is a little tricky and daunting but VERY, VERY easy IF you break it down to the basics. So… let’s break it down to the basics!

Here are the products I use:

20150329_120015

20150328_105426

Yes I do use my fair share of brushes and that’s NOT needed but I will verify which steps are required and optional.

Step 1: apply moisturizer (not pictured). The key with cream contour is that your skin needs to be SUPPLE!

Step 2: apply primer (OCC Skin Primer) with a foundation brush (first brush pictured). It can be any kind of foundation brush or even your fingers. I apply it this way because the primer is water based (similar to Mac Fix + Spray) so it kind of primes my brush too.

Step 3: apply foundation (Revlon PhotoReady Airbrush Mousse) all over the face- shade: Nude. Ok so **sidenote**- I bought this foundation on clearance at Target for 50% off so I am still up in the air to if I like it or not. It’s not my exact color (about one shade darker than what my skin is). I figure that in the summer I can get decent use out of it. The formula is very light weight which I do like, especially for a cream contour routine since I am applying various products to my face.

Step 4: Apply using either your fingers or a small foundation brush the cream contour (ABH Cream Contour Kit) on the hollows of the cheeks, temple and along the sides of the nose. Apply with your fingers the highlight color on the bridge of your nose, middle of your forehead, under your eyes, cupid’s bow and middle of chin (I like to mix a pink from the kit along with the shade vanilla to get a color much lighter than my skin tone). NOTE: For this post, I did half of my face at first to show the difference.

Exhibit A:

20150328_101747

Step 5: Blend it out! I use my beauty blender but you can use any smaller (or larger) synthetic brush.

Step 6: SET! It’s crucial that whenever you apply a cream to the face (no matter if it’s foundation, highlighter, blush, concealer, etc) that you set it with some kind of powder. I used the ABH Contour Kit to set my contour in all the places I applied it with cream. Then I set my highlight with one of the lighter (keep it matte though) to all of the places I applied the cream highlight. I used my Wayne Goss brush for the contour but I would suggest Real Techniques Contour Brush for a cheaper option. I used my Sephora #80 to set most of the powder under my eye, nose and forehead.

Step 7: Buff it all out. I learned this step from Wayne Goss. I used my Smashbox Photo Filter Powder and a large, fluffy powder brush to buff it all over my skin. This will not disrupt the cream, powder or placement of either- it actually just adds a beautiful finish and makes everything blend that much more.

Exhibit B:

20150328_103047

OK I kind of cheated and did one of my eyebrows and eyes so you could see a transformation but I don’t even think it does my skin justice…. so here’s more.

Exhibit C:

20150328_103334

20150328_104713

Do you see that? A SERIOUS transformation of my skin. And super subtle too… this wasn’t even a going out look- just a simple, daytime cream contour. It proves that makeup can transform and bring out your best features.

Going to rest now… I am sick but had to get this post up!

xoxo,

Lesley Hope

Leave a Reply

