Vamp It Up For Fall

Published October 1, 2014 by lesleyhope

Let’s start it off today… 5:45AM. Alarm goes off. I wake up. NOPE, not happening. I go back to bed. Set my alarm for an hour from now. 6:45AM… I’ll wait 10 more minutes. Well, 10 turned into 30 and I was officially running SO behind. Luckily I had my outfit all picked out (burgundy button down, navy pinstriped pants). I pull on my clothes, brush my hair (before you start judging HOLD THE PHONE- I showered the night before chill). Now it’s 7:20AM- ok, 20 minutes to do my makeup. Damnit, I usually prefer a good 30 to take my time but oh well. I go into my normal foundation, bronzer, face routine and have to skimp on the eyes but I swear, a little medium matte brown in the crease and a creamy shimmer on the lid- good to go. Now it’s the lips. Shit, it’s 7:38AM. I’ve got 2 minutes to get the heck out of there otherwise I’m going to be mad late. I could swipe on a nude- nah, too plain. I could put on the color I wore yesterday- nah, too plain. If you know me- you know I love color, I love lipstick and I LOVE switching it up. Ok… hurry, quick. AH! One of the OCC lip tars from their new fall collection, Unknown Pleasures? YEP! Winner winner! Technopagen to be exact. Yes, it’s dark AF. Yes, it’s purple with some shimmer. Yes, it’s vampy. Yes, I put it on and rocked the hell out of it. Ok fine, I put it on then mixed it with NARS Matte Lip Pencil in Bolero which is a peachy pink just to soften it a little.

Fast forward to work. I’m pretty confident rocking different colors but this Technopagen. My goodness, it’s really extreme. I am honestly surprised I chose it. But the things you will do to get your coffee on time… So work, yes. I get into work and people aren’t looking at me much different. Whew. Ok. I’m good. My friend comes up to my desk “Oh my gosh, your lips.” “yeah?” “Awesome!” That was all I needed.

Throughout the rest of the day, I was complimented not only by several women but men too! They were straight as well. They liked that my lips matched my shirt (kind of- dark burgundy, dark purple, I’ll give it to you). The moral of this story is YOU CAN. YOU CAN YOU CAN YOU CAN wear dark lip colors. Especially this fall! I Actually really like when people coordinate their lips with their outfit in some way (green shirt, red lips ALWAYS because they compliment each other). So go for it ladies!

2014-10-01 11.04.20 (1)Xo,

Lesley Hope

8 comments on “Vamp It Up For Fall

  • Leave a Reply

