Make a Stunning Entrance… Into Fall!

Published September 30, 2014 by lesleyhope

So it goes like this. I check the weather on my phone this morning: high of 73! Walk to work in my cute skirt with flip flips (brought my heels obvi). Go about my day… work, spin, sauna. Come outside in my workout clothes and flip flops: HELLO FALL! I could feel it on my skin, I could smell it in the air, hell, I even could taste it when a leaf blew into my mouth. Winter takes no prisoners, especially in the Midwest. BUT, winter gives us this beautiful thing called fall and I am going to breakdown what you need to make the easiest and classiest transition. Warning: this list does not include zip ups, Pumpkin Spice Lattes or Uggs.

1. Matte. Everything. (Almost) all of the time. I am not condoning shopping sprees but if you cannot go into your makeup bag and pull out a medium matte brown eyeshadow a medium matte any color eye shadow, I highly suggest you hop on Sephora.com, makeupgeek.com or go to your nearest Ulta. You need those mattes in your life. Especially the medium shades for everyday. We’re done with the corally shimmers and golds for a little bit right now. Put them away for like a week. Then you can get them back out. My favorites? The Naked Basics Palette sold online and in stores a Ulta and Sephora. It’s great for beginners. If you’re a tad more advanced or already have it, try the Lorac Pro Palette from Ulta. Awesome range and what a great bang for your buck.

2. More Matte. Everything. But now I’m talking about lips. And let me be more specific, matte browns and nudes. YEP I said it. This woman of color has said it and there is no going back. This summer was all about the color but this winter is about them warm toned shades. I can’t get over these colors because they were the colors I wore when I first EVER started wearing makeup. The mocha shades, the berry colors, the muted roses. I went to Ulta yesterday and NYX is PACKED with these type of colors- they are $3.50 too! My favorite shades and MUST HAVES for anyone are Whipped Caviar, Maison, Butter, Euro Trash. MAC has some awesome colors as well: Pink Plaid, Kinda Sexy and Velvet Teddy are a few.

3. Last but not least- I have talked about matte this and medium this. I am leaving you with ONE last item that you will need this fall. A true bold ass lip color. And maybe a little haircut or style. But definitely a bold, daring, dark or vampy lip color. And not for everyday- hold those horses. For the night you go out for dirty martinis with your girlfriends, or the day you pull on your sweater and sunglasses and go window shopping downtown, or the night you go on a third date to the pumpkin patch or haunted house (I swear I’m not naming these from experience). Really though! Get on that dark purple, those dark jeweled tones and get a little lose. But wear your pearls. Check out this new collection from NYX that I’m about to obsess over. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? Those are pretty crazy but there are tons of other deep, rich colors that will do the trick just fine. Suggestions: MAC Cyber, OCC Anita, OCC Vintage, Loreal Lip Crayon in Petite Plum. Do it.

I am dedicating the next month and a half to….. The MISS SJ 2014-15 Pageant! I have been asked to do the make up for it and I could not be more excited!

I also have a bomb project I have been working on for Halloween… the 7 Deadly Skins. Can’t wait to show you guys!

Lots of love,

Lesley Hope

Leave a Reply

