Get Naked

Published March 21, 2014 by lesleyhope

Hi friends! I’ve been slacking, I’m sorry. I actually have had the flu for the past couple of days. So I knew when I went into the bathroom at 10AM yesterday and looked at the ghost with the washed out skin and dull eyes staring back in the mirror, I should go home (side note, I had done the exact same makeup routine I usually do, I even highlighted to perk up my eyes) . Moral of the story, if you’re sick, putting on makeup will not help. Your body will fight that all off and melt your makeup to say “LOOK GIRLFRIEND, YOUR IMMUNE SYSTEM IS WORKING OVERTIME, CAN YOU GIVE US A BREAK NOW?” So I did. I gave my immune system Christmas early and slept for 13 hours. My body is still a little angry at me for going too long without stopping, but it’s getting better.

On to the next one. I’ve got 2 products to review and swatch for you today. The beloved NAKED palettes from Urban Decay. I don’t have the 2nd one only because it is, in my opinion, the weakest of the 3 in terms of different colors- but that’s only because I had the first one. If you don’t have the first, compare 1 and 2 to see which colors look better on you but I wouldn’t get both. 1 is warmer tones and 2 are more silvers and cooler tones. 3 are rose golds and taupes which I really enjoy blending and working with. Blondes have the best luck with pink/rose tones in my opinion.

20140319_142559

The ever famous Urban Decay Naked and Naked 3 palettes.

20140319_142653

Let me just compare the packaging of both quickly- Naked 3 comes in a sleek, plastic palette that snaps shut. Naked 1 is in a cardboard with felt and a magnetic shut-case. Naked 3, you win in that department. They both came with cool brushes that were duel ended but I lost them both. And they were synthetic, kind of cheapies. They’re nice if you’re just getting into makeup but I don’t pay too much mind to them.

Now the colors… let’s start with the first 7 of Naked 1 (mainly because I didn’t plan out how many I wanted to do before I started coloring all over myself).

  • Virgin- a shimmery pearl. Great for highlighting under the brow.
  • Sin- a warm, champagne.
  • Naked- a medium, matte brown. I find this color to be the most disappointing out of the entire palette. It’s hard to pick up and doesn’t blend well.
  • Sidecar-a shimmered brownish with a little bit of red undertone and lots of sparkles. Love this on my lid for a night out.
  • Buck- a deeper matte brown. It’s the better version of Naked.
  • Half Baked- true coppery beige. This is one of UD’s best sellers as a single
  • Smog- shimmer bronze.
  • Darkhorse- a chocolate brown with a warm, red undertone.
  • Toasted- medium taupe with more of a pink finish.
  • Hustle- a darker plum based taupe.
  • Creep- dark blue-black with little teal and silver speckles in it. Not one of my favorites in the palette. Difficult to blend out.
  • Gunmetal- beautiful blue-based gray. On the skin, it almost looks like it has a brown undertone. Reminds me of MAC’s Blue Brown pigment which is one of my FAVS!

20140319_143110 20140319_143322

Ok so take a long look at the colors above. I think the main thing they all have in common is warm, brownish/reddish undertones. UD hit a home run with this baby. But then… they came out with another beauty. Not Naked 2. PASS. NAKED 3!!!

  • Strange- pale, neutral pink. I was slightly underwhelmed until I tried it. It’s very smooth and almost acts as a silky finish- not a highlighter.
  • Dust- pink metallic shimmer with micro glitter. The glitter falls so be ready to clean under your eyes after you apply this one. But it’s very pigmented and glittery for some pizazz.
  • Burnout- light peachy satin.
  • Limit- light dusty rose matte.
  • Buzz- metallic rose with gold undertones.
  • Trick- coppery pink with silvery and metallic sparkle.
  • Nooner- medium pinkish brown matte. The darker version to Limit.
  • Liar- a medium mauve shimmer.
  • Factory- a brownish pink satin with red undertones.
  • Mugshot- a medium warm taupe shimmer.
  • Darkside- a cool-toned purple taupe with a pearl finish
  • Blackheart- Smokey matte black-red with red glitter. One of my favorites in this collection. Obviously, not an everyday color but a unique color that you can blend with lots of others to create the tone you want since it is matte with red undertones.

20140319_14362720140319_143835

I love both of these palettes a lot. I do like Naked 3 better- it has many colors that suit my skin tone better with the pinks.

Next on my list to blog not in a million weeks about… colors for spring! Yeah yeah so I’ve already talked your ears off about Radiant Orchid but there are so many other colors that are must haves for THIS spring in particular since I feel that it might never come…. sign. I will be pale and dark rooted for eternity if the sun doesn’t start working it’s magic.

20140319_135203

OPI’s Don’t Talk Bach To Me. It’s the Germany collection and it’s dedicated to my lovely Spartans and March Madness. GO GREEN!

Until next time lovers,

Lesley Hope xo

Leave a Reply

