Must Have Lipstick Shades

Published March 10, 2014 by lesleyhope

Sometimes my life experiences are the ways I come up with topics. I talk as if I am a reputable author that writes so much… Anyway, I went to Chelsea Handler’s stand up show tonight (it was hysterical) and I was going through pictures afterwards (because every girl documents these type of events like woah). I’m reflecting on the L afterwards, going through all the pictures, experimenting with all the filters to see if I can make myself look tan (I can’t).  So I’m really studying and critiquing the hell out of these pictures. I had put on a bright pink lipstick color for the show- and when I mean bright, I’m talking like Malibu Barbie bright. The hottest, pinkest pink there is. I loved it, but when I was staring at nothing but these pictures I thought to myself, thank god I tried this color going to Chelsea Handler and not work or a date. Don’t get me wrong, I am all about experimenting and trying everything you’re up for but some colors scream certain things. Like this pink, it screamed NOT FOR WORK, JUST WEAR TO A SPECIAL EVENT THAT ONLY FASHION FORWARD PEOPLE WILL BE AT. And that red screams a couple of different things- ALPHA FEMALE, DON’T F*** WITH ME, or SEX. That dark purple that is almost black screams I WILL DOMINATE YOU or GET OUT OF MY WAY. You get my point?

Now I wanted to put together a list of lipstick colors that are must have universally. Universal for all skin tones, all ages (this blog is 18 and over BTW so I’m not endorsing anything under that), all hair colors, eye colors, etc.

First up… blue.

Just kidding.

1) Red. Not rocket science. Just red.

20140309_222908

Why? Because it’s classic. Because makes you stand out. Because it looks good on anyone. Because… that color is smoking hot!  I highly suggest it for sales jobs where the guys are a little sleazy and the ladies have to be a little forward. Not trying to sound anti-feminist but play the part when you need to. And if you happen to have bright red lips and get the job, sale or man- amen sister.

2) Natural nude.

20140309_222908_2

I love color but I am a LOVER of the nudes. The natural, barely there look is so sexy and can be worn literally anytime with any makeup on your eyes and face.

3) Soft, light pink.

20140309_222908_3

Not a barbie pink. Just a very feminine color. I hate saying this but it’s romantic! Baby pink works well on everyone and it doesn’t scream anything. It actually whispers, “kiss me, I’m a girl”.

4) Deep berry

20140309_222908_4

This color has come onto the fashion map full force in the past year especially and it’s not going anywhere. I stand by my word that anyone can pull off a bold, berry shade on their lips. I don’t care if you’re white, black, medium, blue or yellow- you can and should have this color in your makeup kit.

That concludes the four colors I believe are must have lipsticks. It doesn’t mean you need to go out right now and buy them all (even though if you’re going to Walgreens or the mall anytime soon…) but you should be open to every single one of these colors and I never want to hear “that color doesn’t look good on me”.

Sleep tight and work out hard tomorrow ladies! Summer is upon us. It’s 40 degrees in Chicago!

Speaking of summer…

20140309_225243

This is OPI’s Feelin’ Hot Hot Hot! It’s the best hot pink nail polish. Looks better with a tan but something has to get me through the next week when there’s still snow on the ground.

Adios and sleep tight,

Lesley Hope xo.

4 comments on “Must Have Lipstick Shades

  • Lesley Hope. I wanted to hear your thoughts on Coconut Oil? It’s something I’ve recently discovered and I’m going a little crazy for it!
    -BX

  • I got an organic virgin oil at Meijer for $10. I don’t necessarily recommend any particular brand, only that you get something organic and non processed. To make a long story short, I love it. I use it on my body, face, underarms, lips, hair, nails, and even cook with it. Personally, I never believed in the “miracle food” thing but believe me when I say it, I found it.
    -BX

  • Leave a Reply

